Baxter County among local areas remaining under burn ban

While the Twin Lakes Area did receive some rain over the weekend, some of the local counties remain under a burn ban. Baxter County Chief Deputy Jeff Lewis posted on Facebook Monday morning the sheriff's office has been in contact with the Baxter County Judge's Office, and Judge Mickey Pendergrass is not lifting the burn ban at this time.

Burn bans also remain in effect for Marion, Fulton, Izard, Boone and Newton Counties. The bans have been lifted for Searcy and Stone Counties.

For a map of Arkansas counties under a burn ban, visit the Arkansas Forestry Commission online at

WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI