Baxter County burn ban lifted

The ban on outdoor burning for all unincorporated areas of Baxter County was lifted Wednesday afternoon. Baxter County Judge Mickey Pendergrass says the ban was put in place on November 28th in response to the extremely rapid drying conditions.

Recent precipitation of uniform distribution throughout Baxter County has relieved the hazardous condition that led to the burn ban.

As of Wednesday afternoon, the online Arkansas Forestry Commission map reflected burn bans still in effect in seven counties in the state, including Fulton, Marion, Newton, and Boone in North Central Arkansas.

For a map of Arkansas counties under a burn ban, visit the Arkansas Forestry Commission online at

WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI