The Latest: 3 party switchers chairing House panels

     (AP) – Three Arkansas lawmakers who defected from the

Democratic Party to the GOP over the past two years will be leading top

committees in the House this year.

     House Speaker Jeremy Gillam on Monday announced who will chair his chamber’s

committees in the 91st General Assembly. Rep. Joe Jett will chair Revenue and

Taxation, Rep. Jeff Wardlaw will chair Public Health and Rep. Mike Holcomb will

chair Public Transportation.

     Jett and Wardlaw both left the Democratic Party last year after the GOP

expanded its majorities in both chambers. Holcomb switched parties in August


     Gillam told reporters that the chairmanships were not offered to the lawmakers

in exchange for their party switches. He noted that Holcomb had previously been

the transportation panel’s vice chairman and that Jett had been the tax

committee’s chairman as a Democrat.

     Rep. David Hillman, who left the Democratic Party for the Republican Party

last year, was named vice chairman of the Agriculture, Forestry and Economic

Development Committee.


WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI