3 from MH help ASU’s Phi Beta Lambda win 54 Awards at state conference

Three students from Mountain Home helped the Phi Beta Lambda chapter at Arkansas State University continue its winning tradition at the state leadership conference. ASU’s PBL chapter brought home 54 total awards from the competition in North Little Rock.

Thirty-five student members advanced to competition at the PBL National Leadership Conference this summer in San Antonio, Texas.

In addition, Brenna Cannon of Mountain Home was selected as the state parliamentarian for 2019-20, and Rachel Washam of Jonesboro was named 2019-20 state president. The pair gives A-State 12 state officers elected since 2009.

The A-State organization received first-place honors as the largest chapter with 285 members and third-place for the largest number of professional division members.

In all, Arkansas State collected 22 first-place awards, 15 second place, nine third place, three fourth place and five fifth-place awards. The winning students competed in 40 events. The A-State organization also won Gold Chapter honors.

A-State finishers at the state conference from Mountain Home include Jordan Womack who won first place in business presentation and Bryston Hickman who took first place in management concepts and retail management along with Zoe Parsons who was second place in the future business executive category.

The national conference in San Antonio is set for June 24-27. Arkansas State’s 35 representatives will compete in 41 of the 62 available events. Among the members attending will be Cannon, Womack, Hickman and Parsons.

Phi Beta Lambda is the college division of Future Business Leaders of America and provides help and preparation to members for business-related careers.

WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI