Beginning at 12:01 a.m. on Saturday and ending at 11:59 p.m. on Sunday, the state of Arkansas will hold its sales tax holiday allowing shoppers the opportunity to purchase certain school supplies and clothing free of state and local sales or use tax. All retailers are required to participate and may not charge tax on items legally tax-exempt during the sales tax holiday.The Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration says during this 48-hour period, state and local sales tax will not be collected on clothing and footwear if the sales price is less than $100 per item, clothing accessories and equipment if the sales price is less than $50 per item, school supplies, art supplies and school instructional materials.The sales tax holiday benefits more than those just looking for back to school supplies as everything from footwear, diapers, blankets, wedding apparel, gloves, aprons, hats, neckties, coats, jackets and formal wear are exempt from state and local sales taxes.
For a complete list of rules and regulations concerning the tax free weekend from the Arkansas Department of Finance and Administration, click here.
In the past, Arkansas and Missouri have often held their sales tax holidays on the same weekend.
By Missouri state law, the sales tax holiday begins on the first Friday in August and continues through the following Sunday.
In 2020, the sales tax holiday begins at 12:01 a.m. on Friday, Aug. 7, and runs through Sunday, Aug. 9.
Information from the Missouri Department of Revenue can be found by clicking here.
WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI