Ozark County residents elected to Missouri General Assembly

Photos: Karla Eslinger and Travis Smith

A pair of area residents were elected to the Missouri General Assembly after winning a couple of landslide races. Karla Eslinger of Wasola will be the new state senator for District 33, and fellow Ozark County resident Travis Smith will take Eslinger’s seat in the House of Representatives for District 155.

Eslinger, a Republican, garnered 84% of the tally to defeat Democrat Tammy Harty with 16%. Locally, Eslinger defeated Harty 4,166 to 617 in Ozark County, 15,207 to 2,935 in Howell County and 5,931 to 898 in Douglas County. Eslinger will succeed Mike Cunningham, who was unable to run due to term limits.

Smith, a Republican, won the house race with 85% of the votes over Democratic opponent Mike Lind of Thornfield, with 15%. County-by-county, Smith beat Lind 4,082 to 674 in Ozark, 5,318 to 1,146 in Taney and 5,882 to 916 in Douglas.

WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI