2 local senators selected for committee leadership roles

Sen. Missy Irvin/Senate.Arkansas.gov

The Arkansas Senate made committee assignments and chairs Friday, following last Tuesday’s general election. However, the Arkansas House of Representatives has postponed similar action pending the outcomes of two close elections in the central area of the state.

Sen. Jonathan Dismang, R-Beebe, was named Senate chair of the Joint Budget Committee, while Sen. David Wallace, R-Leachville, was named vice chair. The membership is set by law according to seniority by congressional district.

In addition, a local senator has been selected as the new chair of the Education Committee. Talk Business and Politics reports Republican Sen. Missy Irvin of Mountain View will chair the Education Committee, while Democrat Sen. Joyce Elliott of Little Rock will serve as the vice chair.

Sen. Scott Flippo/Senate.Arkansas.gov

A second local senator, Republican Scott Flippo of Bull Shoals, has been selected as the vice chair of the Public Health, Welfare and Labor Committee. The committee is chaired by Republican Cecille Bledsoe of Rogers.

WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI