Volunteer Communities of the Year awards includes 2 locally

Clarkridge and Mountain Home will be recognized as recipients of the Arkansas Volunteer Communities of the Year award during the Arkansas Municipal League's Winter Conference in early January.

The two Baxter County communities are among 12 selected across the state for the annual award according to the Arkansas Department of Human Services Office of Communications and Community Engagement.

Everton, in Boone County, was also a recipient.

The Arkansas Volunteer Community of the Year Awards is sponsored by the Office of the Governor, the Arkansas Municipal League, the Governor’s Advisory Commission on National Service and Volunteerism and OCCE. The Arkansas Department of Transportation (ArDot) provides signs at prominent locations designating the communities as recipients of the award.

A panel of members for the Governor’s Advisory Commission served on the selection committee. Some of the recipients are first-time awardees, while some have received the award in the past.

The other nine communities selected to receive recognition for their volunteer efforts were Benton, Bentonville, Clarksville, Fort Smith, Greenbrier, Jonesboro, Marianna, Siloam Springs and Van Buren.

WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI