Tuesday election day to fill legislative seats

Tuesday is a special election day in northern Arkansas with primary ballots to determine party candidates for a May 22nd special election for filling two legislative vacancies.

Republicans Timmy Reid and Donald Ragland are vying for the vacant House District 83 seat. With no other candidates having filed for this race, Tuesday's primary election will determine who will fill this seat.

District 83 covers most of Newton and Searcy counties, as well as parts of Boone and Carroll counties.

The seat became vacant in November when Rep. David Branscum announced his resignation to become the USDA’s rural development director in Arkansas.

Luke Heffley, Robert “Bob” Bailey and Breanne Davis filed as Republicans for the Senate District 16 seat.

Should a runoff be required, it will be held Tuesday, March 13th. The winner of the primary will face Democrat candidate Teresa Nichole Gallegos in the May 22nd special election.

District 16 covers Newton County and part of Boone, Carroll, Pope and Van Buren counties.

The Senate vacancy was created with the death of the late Senator Greg Standridge of Russellville in November.

WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI