Local artwork in 56th Young Arkansas Artists Exhibition

The artwork of six local young artists is included in the traveling 56th Young Arkansas Artists Exhibition. A representation of the creative efforts of young Arkansas artists in grades k-12 is on exhibit through April 6th at the Donald W. Reynolds Library Serving Baxter County.

The exhibition is sponsored by the Arkansas Art Center's Statewide ArtsReach Programs.

Young Arkansas Artists on Tour features a selection of works from the 56th Young Arkansas Artists Exhibition at the Arkansas Arts Center in Little Rock. The annual exhibition is organized by the Arkansas Arts Center with the cooperation of the Arkansas Department of Education. Teachers from 124 schools across the state submitted 495 artworks for consideration. A panel of art professionals selected the top eight works per grade which were exhibited at the Arkansas Arts Center in mid 2017.

Dolores Justus, owner of Justus Fine Art Gallery in Hot Springs, selected the awards for the exhibition. She selected one “best of class” and two “honorable mention” awards for each grade level. Monetary awards, funded by Arkansas Children’s Hospital and Mid-Southern Watercolorists, were given to support each winner’s arts program.

Local winners of honorable mention went to Norfork High School freshman Hannah Bradbury, Mountain Home Career Academy Sophomore Carrera Able, and sixth grade Flippin student Brooke Lynn Leininger. Best of class recipient is seventh grade Tristen Cobb from Flippin Public Schools. Norfork High School Junior Sydney Lawhorn received an AAE teacher’s choice award.

Their artwork is featured in the exhibit, along with the work of Flippin Public Schools senior Hunter Harp.

The Arkansas Arts Center programs are supported in part by the City of Little Rock, the City of North Little Rock, the Little Rock Convention and Visitors Bureau, and the Arkansas Arts Council, an agency of the Department of Arkansas Heritage, and the National Endowment for the Arts.

Library hours are 10:00 until 6:30 Mondays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Fridays; 10:00 until 8:00 Tuesdays; 10:00 until 5:00 Saturdays; and Sunday afternoons from 1:00 until 5:00.

For information on all library programs, visit www.baxlib.org. The Donald W. Reynolds Library Serving Baxter County is located at 300 Library Hill in Mountain Home.

WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI