Texas, 12 other states sue to block Obama coal mining rule

      AUSTIN, Texas (AP) – Texas and 12 other states have asked a federal court to
block final rules from President Barack Obama's administration designed to
reduce coal mining's impact on streams.
     Texas Attorney General Ken Paxton petitioned a Washington-based appeals court
for an injunction Tuesday.
     Paxton said in a statement that the "Stream Protection Rule" imposes
"mandatory, one-size-fits-all" regulations that violate states' rights.
     Joining Texas are Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Colorado, Indiana, Kentucky,
Missouri, Montana, Ohio, Utah, West Virginia and Wyoming.
     Last month, North Dakota Attorney General Wayne Stenehjem filed a separate
lawsuit challenging the rule there.
     The U.S. Interior Department argues that the rule will protect 6,000 miles of
streams by preventing coal mining debris from being dumped into nearby waters.
     Republicans have vowed to overturn it under President-elect Donald Trump.


WebReadyTM Powered by WireReady® NSI